Today: Last Update:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  • Paralympic heroes open bookings as Airbnb Online Experiences Festival goes live


    07/23/20

    If you ever wanted the chance to virtually meet and interact with some of the biggest names in Paralympic sport, then this is the week. Starting on Friday 24 July, people from around the world can join a five-day summer festival of Online Experiences hosted by Para athletes on Airbnb in partnership with the International Paralympic Committee.

    The festival will kick off with an opening act featuring Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson DBE, 16-time medalist in the Paralympic Games - speaking about what it means to be part of the Paralympic Movement. The line-up includes Online Experiences which spectators can also watch live or on replay on Airbnb, Olympic and Paralympic Games YouTube channels over multiple time zones.

    Date & Time
    Experience & Athlete

    Friday 24 - 12 PM PDT • 3 PM EDT • 8 PM BST • 9 PM CEST • 4 AM JST
    Opening Act featuring Colin Jackson, Pita Taufatofua, Tanni Grey-Thompson

    Saturday 25 - 9 AM PDT • 12 PM EDT • 5 PM BST • 6 PM CEST • 1 AM JST
    Adapt to Change with Birgit Skarstein (Norway, Para rowing - multi world champion)

    Saturday 25 - 3 PM PDT • 6 PM EDT • 11 PM BST • 12 AM CEST • 7 AM JST
    Train with Paralympian Tatyana McFadden (USA, Para athletics - Paralympic multi gold medallist)

    Sunday 26 - 1 PM PDT • 4 PM EDT • 9 PM BST • 10 PM CEST • 5 AM JST
    See the World with Lex Gillette (USA, Para athletics (long jump) – multi world champion)

    Monday 27 - 3 PM PDT • 6 PM EDT • 11 PM BST • 12 AM CEST • 7 AM JST
    Join the Mindful Movement with Adam Kellerman (Australia, wheelchair tennis – two-time Paralympian)

    Tuesday 28 - 1 PM PDT • 4 PM EDT • 9 PM BST • 10 AM CEST • 5 AM JST
    Dream-chasing with Ibrahim Al Hussein (Refugee, para swimming)

    Tuesday 28 - 2 PM PDT • 5 AM EDT • 10 PM BST • 11 PM CEST • 6 AM JST
    Join the Mindful Movement with Adam Kellerman

    Tuesday 28 - 8 AM PDT • 11 AM EDT • 4 PM BST • 5 PM CEST • 12 AM JST
    Explore the Mind with Lucy Shuker (Great Britain, wheelchair tennis – Paralympic multi medallist)

    Tuesday 28 - 11 AM PDT • 2 PM EDT • 7 PM BST • 8 PM CEST • 3 AM JST
    Learn Prosthetic Carpentry with David Hill (Great Britain, Para swimming – world medallist)

    Wednesday 29 - 1 PM PDT • 4 PM EDT • 9 PM BST • 10 PM CEST • 5 AM JST
    See the World with Lex Gillette

    N.B. The schedule is subject to change, please visit abnb.co/IPC for the latest information

    But that’s not all, many Paralympic hosts will continue to offer their Online Experiences after the summer festival ends, giving fans unprecedented global access to Paralympians and Para athletes from around the world. Athletes and their Online Experiences currently available to book at abnb.co/IPC include:

    Australia
    Adam Kellerman – Join the mindful movement with Adam Kellerman
    Evan O’Hanlon – Achieving targets with Evan O’Hanlon

    Canada
    Nicolas Guy Turbide - Tackling stress with Nicolas Guy Turbide
    Benoit Huot – Embracing change with Benoit Huot
    Abi Tripp – Reaching new goals with Abi Tripp

    Great Britain
    Lucy Shuker - Explore the mind with Lucy Shuker
    David Hill – Learn prosthetic carpentry with David Hill
    Lora Fachie - Cooking blind with Lora Fachie
    Millie Knight – Countryside training with Millie Knight
    Stephen Miller - Positive thinking with a Paralympic hero

    France
    Yvan Wouandji - Découverte du braille avec Yvan Wouandji

    Italy
    Martina Caironi - An Italian coffee with a Paralympic Champion
    Veronica Yoko - Turning changes into opportunities
    Emanuele Lambertini - How to be optimistic
    Edoardo Giordan - E tu, che sogno hai?

    Japan
    Nobukazu Hanaoka - 今の自分にできることを全力で。パラリンピアンからのメッセージ [Do all you can do now]

    Norway
    Birgit Skarstein - Adapt to change
    Refugee Paralympians
    Ibrahim Al Hussein – Dream chasing with Ibrahim Al Hussein
    Shahrad Nasajpour - Learn perseverance with Shahrad

    Singapore
    Syadidah Alim – Beat the slump with Syadidah Alim

    United States of America
    Tatyana McFadden - Train with Paralympian Tatyana McFadden
    Lex Gillette - See the world with Lex Gillette
    Gregory Burns – Sketch a work of art with Gregory Burns
    Tyson Gunter – Marketing simplified with Tyson Gunter
    Sophie Herzog – Feel the burn workout with Sophie Herzog
    Jamal Hill – Creative family swim with Jamal Hill
    Tahl Leibovitz – Social change with Tahl Leibowitz
    Ryan Neiswender - Navigating change with Ryan Neiswender
    Markeith Price - Entrepreneurialism with Markeith Price

    Fans who book will proudly support their heroes ahead of Tokyo 2020, as proceeds will provide valuable income to Para athlete hosts, now and beyond the festival, including some who are on the road to their Paralympic dreams.

    Andrew Parsons, President of the International Paralympic Committee, said: “If there is a positive to be found from the COVID-19 pandemic, it’s that it has fostered a culture of creativity and innovation. Paralympians and Para athletes are masters of innovation and finding creative solutions to daily challenges they face.

    “That is why I’m very excited by Airbnb’s summer festival Of Paralympian Experiences - it’s a fantastic initiative that showcases not only the outstanding performance standards of Para athletes but shows their skills at everything from goal setting to creating a positive mindset, carpentry with a prosthetic arm to a vision impaired Paralympic gold medallist giving a cooking lesson.

    “We know that the last six months have been challenging for many athletes, so Airbnb Experiences offers a great way for Paralympians and Para athletes to access new earning opportunities.”

    Joe Gebbia, Airbnb Co-founder, added: “It’s more important than ever to find ways to connect. This Online Festival will enable guests around the world to get personal access to some of the world’s most elite Para athletes, whether it’s seeing the world with long jumper Lex Gillette, or making a proper Italian coffee with Martina Caironi. It’s an incredible opportunity to experience the Paralympic spirit in a completely new way.” 

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is www.aroundtherings.com, for subscribers only