Today: Last Update:

  • IOC Announces Composition of Coordination Commission for 1st Winter YOG in 2012


    Following the announcement last December of Innsbruck as the host city for the first Winter Youth Olympic Games in 2012, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced the composition of the Coordination Commission. 

    The Coordination Commission includes representatives from the IOC and the Olympic Movement who will monitor preparations for the Youth Olympic Games and guide the Innsbruck Organising Committee over the next three years. 

    The composition is as follows: 

    Mr Gian Franco Kasper (SUI)

    Members (in alphabetical order)
    Mr Ottavio Cinquanta (ITA)
    Mr Janko Dvorsak (SLO)
    Mr Victor Khotochkin (RUS)
    Ms Rebecca Scott (CAN)
    Mr Robert Storey (CAN)
    Ms Pernilla Wiberg (SWE)

    Executive Director for the Commission
    Mr Gilbert Felli, (SUI) IOC Olympic Games Executive Director   

    IOC President Jacques Rogge and Coordination Commission Chairman, Gian Franco Kasper, together with Olympic Games Executive Director Gilbert Felli and the Head of the Youth Olympic Games, Essar Gabriel, visited Innsbruck in January. The IOC and Innsbruck Organising Committee will continue working closely together in the lead up to the staging of the first Winter Youth Olympic Games.

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation.

    Your complete source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only.