Today: Last Update:

  • PyeongChang Olympic Organizing Committee Takes Shape


    Jin Sun Kim. (POCOG)
    (ATR) It’s official—Governor Jin Sun Kim will lead the PyeongChang 2018 Organizing Committee for the next two years .

    That was among the business conducted at the first OCOG General Assembly on Wednesday in Seoul.

    “The PyeongChang 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games should take place in an economically viable, socio-culturally reasonable, eco-friendly and peaceful manner,” said the newly elected President & CEO.

    “Every single stakeholder such as the national government, the Gangwon Provincial government, the National Assembly, the Korean Olympic Committee, and the Korean people should work together for the realization of this goal.”

    Kim’s Secretary General will be Dong Hoo Moon, a key official with the 2011 athletics world championships in Daegu, South Korea, and the head of the Korean organizing committee for the 2002 World Cup and held a top role for the 1988 Seoul Olympics.

    More than 100 leading figures in Korean sports, government and culture comprise the General Assembly of POCOG—the acronym of the newest Games organizing committee.

    POCOG’s first official duty is to draft a venue and Games’ master plan in coordination with the IOC.

    Sports minister Kwang Shik Choi told Korean media: "The government, as a whole, will provide full support to the organizing committee in holding a successful Olympic Games in 2018."

    Gold medalist Yu Na Kim, one of the gold medalists on the POCOG her role will be to build on her experience from the Vancouver Olympics "creating an event and venue that fit athletes' needs."

    More appointments are expected before the end of the year and marketing for the 2018 Games will begin in March 2012.

    Written by Ed Hula III

    For general comments or questions, click here.

    20 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only.