Today: Last Update:

  • Asian Paralympic Committee announces winners of Asian Awards


    Asian Paralympic Committee announces winners of Asian Awards

    The Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) presented three recipients with the Asian Order and six winners with Asian Awards at a Gala dinner held during the APC General Assembly in Bangkok.

    The Asian Paralympic Order is the highest order that the APC can bestow and is awarded to any person who has illustrated the APC ideals through his or her actions, has demonstrated outstanding achievement in their sport, or has given outstanding and long-lasting services to the APC cause. At last night’s ceremony the Order was presented to:

    Michael Barredo. Michael is currently President of NPC Philippines and an APC Board member representing the South East Asia Sub region. He began his involvement in disability sport shortly after an accident that left him visually impaired in 1979. A former athlete who then moved into sports administration, it has been his lifelong passion to advocate the importance of ‘Sports for All”. He is the founding President of the National Paralympic Committee of the Philippines, former Chairman of International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) in Asia before becoming the IBSA World President from 2005-2013. He was one of the founding governing Board Members and Vice President of the Asian Paralympic Committee. He is a recipient of the “Paralympic Order” from International Paralympic Committee (IPC), which is the highest tribute given to individuals for their contribution in furthering the Paralympic Movement throughout the world.

    The late Ms Fatemeh Haj Mir Fattah: With a doctorate in Physical Education, she held faculty positions at several universities in Iran. She founded and co-founded several different organisations including the Paralympic Committee of Iran, and Iranian Spinal Cord Injury Association and was instrumental in helping women participate in international competitions for the first time in the history of Paralympic sport in Iran. Sadly she passed away in 2010 but her contributions to the field of sports medicine and particularly, the issues related to people and athletes with impairments will ensure she is never forgotten. To accept the award her son, Mr Arash Mahmoudi flew in from the USA.

    Ms Anyetty Chow Yeun Wan. Anyetty joined the Hong Kong Sports Association for the Disabled in 1975 as an administrative assistant. She has dedicated over 40 years service to the association and the Paralympic movement.

    There were six categories for the Asian Paralympic Awards which were determined on outstanding performances at any competition since the last awards were presented in December 2014. The winners of the awards are

    Best Asian Male Athlete: Xu Qing from China. A swimmer who competed at his first Paralympic Games in Athens when he was just 12 years old and went onto compete in both Beijing and London winning an impressive 7 gold medals and one bronze. His dominance in the S6 classification continued at the Incheon Asian Para Games where he won 8 gold medals in all the 8 events he took in, and broke 3 Asian records and 3 Asian Games records in the process. He continued his Paralympic success at Rio 2016 where he won 3 Gold medals

    Best Asian Female Athlete: Rong Jing from China. Jing started wheelchair fencing in 2004 and won Gold at London 2012. She is the current world champion and competed at the Incheon Asian Para Games where she won two gold medals for women’s individual foil and epee. At Rio 2016 she was selected for the honour of being the flag bearer for the Chinese team and went on to win 3 gold medals in Women's individual foil and 2 team events.

    Best Asian Team Performance: The Iranian Men’s Sitting Volleyball team. This team is a world powerhouse at sitting volleyball, reaching the final in the past eight editions of the Games they have been runner up twice and have won Gold every other time (Seoul 1988, Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000 Beijing 2008 and most recently Rio 2016). The award was collected by the team’s Head Coach Mr Hadi Rezaree.

    Best Asian Youth Athlete: Syuci Indriani from Indonesia. Syuci won three Gold medals at the 2016 INAS Swimming Championships in Thailand which earned her qualification for Rio 2016. Against tough opposition, she qualified for two out of three finals which will stand this 15 year old swimmer in good stead for future success.

    Exemplary Asian Official: Gwak Manjae, Head Coach of the People’s Republic of Korea’s Swimming Team. Manjae had an incredible 2016, coaching 8 athletes at Rio 2016, including delivering four gold medals. He is based in the Korea Paralympic Committed Incheon Training Center. He was a (non-disabled) swimming before he started teaching.

    Best Photography: Abofazl Amanollah from Iran for his photo of the Iranian Football 5 a side team at the Rio 2016 Games.

    APC President Majid Rashed said: “As we look to grow and strengthen the Paralympic movement in Asia, it is important that we recognise those who have made a lasting contribution to it and those whose sporting performances are inspiring and exciting our region. My Executive Board colleagues and I enjoyed judging the winners from a strong list of nominations and we congratulate them all”


    About APC:

    The Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) is based in the United Arab Emirates and aims to set itself as the Paralympic Power of Asia. With a vision to make Asia one of the leading regions of the Paralympic movement in enabling athletes with a disability to achieve sporting excellence and inspire and excite the world. the APC forms an integral part of society through the Paralympic movement. The APC promotes sports for all persons with disabilities within Asia from grassroots to elite level, without discrimination for political, religious, economic, disability, gender or racial reasons. In addition, the APC aims to promote the Paralympic values in Asia, which include courage, determination, inspiration and equality. For further information, please contact APC Media and Communication department through e-mail: or call +447737701098. Alternatively, please visit

    Jane Jones
    Asian Paralympic Committee
    Media Manager

    +44 7737 701098

    Skype: janejones119
    Twitter: @asianparalympic
    Facebook: @AsianPCofficial

    This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please notify the sender immediately by e-mail if you have received this e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail from your system. If you are not the intended recipient you are notified that disclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly prohibited.