Today: Last Update:

  • Paralympic Manifestos Published


    (ATR) Manifestos for the four candidates to succeed International Paralympic Committee President Philip Craven are online.

    The Agitos in the Olympic Park (ATR)
    A link to the documents can be found here.

    The IPC published the manifestos today and confirmed that all members of the IPC eligible to vote in the presidential election are in good standing. Members will vote for a new president, vice-president, and 10 members at large to form the new IPC Governing Board. The election will be held at the IPC General Assembly on Sept. 8 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

    Four candidates are running for the spot of president: Patrick Jarvis from Canada, Andrew Parsons from Brazil, John Petersson from Denmark, and Haidi Zhang from China. The election winner will become the third president of the IPC. The winner of the IPC Presidential election will become an IOC member in an ex officio position.

    In his manifesto Jarvis calls for strengthening of the IPC so that it can be “a model for international sport where all involved enjoy a positive sport experience.”

    Parson’s manifesto focuses on “an IPC for all,” that strengthens its relations with the IOC and puts athlete’s first.

    Petersson’s manifesto has four pillars, “more young; more fair; more open; more together,” that builds on the work of the previous president’s administration.

    Zhang calls on the success of the Chinese Paralympic team under her purview and an expansion of the Paralympic Games and more inclusivity with the Paralympic family.

    In addition to the presidential election, three candidates are running for vice-president and 22 candidates for 10 member at large positions. A full list of the candidates running for those positions can be found below:

    For IPC Vice President: 
    - Duane Kale (NZL – NPC New Zealand)
    - John Petersson (DEN – NPC Denmark)
    - Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee)

    For Member at Large
    - Debra Alexander (RSA – ITU)
    - Mohammed Alhameli (UAE – NPC UAE)
    - Anne d’Ieteren (BEL – NPC Belgium)
    - Marianna “Muffy” Davis (USA – NPC USA)
    - Rita van Driel (NED – NPC Netherlands)
    • Hamid El Aouni (MAR – NPC Morocco)
    - Duane Kale (NZL – NPC New Zealand)
    - Sung Il Kim (KOR – NPC Korea)
    - Luca Pancalli (ITA – NPC Italy)
    - Leonel da Rocha Pinto (ANG – African Paralympic Committee)
    - Karl Quade (GER – NPC Germany)
    - Inderjit Singh Rao (IND – NPC India)
    - Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee)
    - Tim Reddish (GBR – NPC Great Britain)
    - Juan Pablo Salazar (COL – NPC Colombia)
    - Imran Shami (PAK – NPC Pakistan)
    - Robyn Smith (AUS - INAS)
    - László Szabó (HUN – NPC Hungary)
    - Joe Walsh (USA – IBSA)
    - Kevin Wong (SIN – NPC Singapore)
    - Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN – NPC Japan)
    - Jia Yong (CHN – NPC China)

    Written by Aaron Bauer

    For general comments or questions, click here.

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only.