Today: Last Update:

  • FIM General Assembly 2018 in Andorra


    Following closing date of candidacy applications, two candidates announced for the 2018 FIM (Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme) Presidential Election and 10 candidates for FIM Board  as well as 4 candidates for Internal Auditors position

    The election to decide the successor to Mr. Vito Ippolito as the new FIM President will be held on the occasion of the FIM Annual General Assembly in Andorra la Vella on 1st December 2018, with two candidates in contention.

    Either Mr. Jorge Viegas (POR) or Mr. Wolfgang Srb (AUT) will take over from Mr. Ippolito in the role, which he has held since 2006 across three consecutive terms, the maximum amount authorized by the FIM Statutes.

    Mr. Srb has held the role of FIM Europe President since 2014 and was re-elected this year. Since 1984 he has been a member of the Motocross Commission (CMS), taking up the position of Vice President for 4 years before being made President/Director since 1993.

    Mr. Viegas has served 17 years in all as FIM Board Member and held the role of FIM Deputy-President from 2010 to 2014. In 1990 he became the President of the Portuguese Federation. He was a candidate for the position of FIM President in 2014.

    10 candidates for the FIM Board

    Further to the election of the new president, the delegates of the National Federations will also vote on 10 FIM board candidates contending for 3 places as well as 4 candidates contending for 3 seats as Internal Auditors. The names are the following:

    FIM Board candidates:

    BOLLE Jacques (France)
    DAGHER Ali (Lebanon)
    MULDER Wim (Holland)
    STOVICEK Jan (Czech rep)
    WAN AHMAD Wan Zaharuddin (Malaysia)

    COPIOLI Giovanni (Italy)
    KORELIS Stylianos (Greece)
    SEIDANLOO Mahmoud (Iran)
    TURK Michel (Macedonia FYROM)
    WITKOWSKI Andrzej (Poland)

    Internal Auditor candidates
    BAVELLAS Angelos(Cyprus)
    CHATZIIOANNOU Anna (Greece)

    BRANDI Francesco ( Italy)
    FRANCIS David (UK)
    The results of the elections will be announced on the evening of Saturday 1st December 2018.

    The FIM founded in 1904, is the governing body for motorcycle sport and the global advocate for motorcycling. The FIM is an independent association formed by 113 National Federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in motorcycle sport by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

    Among its 50 FIM World Championships the main events are MotoGP, Superbike, Endurance, Motocross, Supercross, Trial, Enduro, Cross-Country Rallies and Speedway. Furthermore, the FIM is also active and involved in the following areas: public affairs, road safety, touring and protection of the environment. The FIM was the first international sports federation to impose an Environmental Code in 1994.