Today: Last Update:

  • World's Top Athletes Prepare for Asia's First Edition of the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship


    196 athletes from 27 nations to compete for Gold
    2018 edition in Wanning, China set to crown first U-18 Gold Medalists

    La Jolla, California – 16 November 2018

    The world’s top SUP surfers, SUP racers, and Paddleboarders are preparing to compete in the 2018 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC) from November 23 – December 2 in Wanning, China - marking the first time the event has been held in Asia in its seven-year history.

    196 athletes from 27 nations will represent their country and stake their claims for the individual Gold Medals and coveted World Team Champion Trophy - with the 2018 edition also including the first Junior U-18 Gold Medals in the SUP Technical Races, showcasing the future talent of SUP on a global stage.

    Elite athletes from around the world have already confirmed their presence at the event, including past ISA Gold Medalists Michael Booth (AUS), Shakira Westdorp (AUS), Luiz Diniz (BRA), Casper Steinfath (DEN), Titouan Puyo (FRA), Daniel Hasulyo (HUN), Candice Appleby (USA), and Connor Baxter (USA).

    Team Australia return, having been dominant since the event’s inception in 2012, winning the Team Gold in five out of six occasions. A stellar Gold Medal performance by USA in 2015 is the only blemish on the Aussies’ record.

    Having been involved in the development of SUP Racing and Surfing for a decade, the ISA ran the first edition of the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship in 2012 in Peru. Succeeding editions of the event were held in Peru (2013), Nicaragua (2014), Mexico (2015), Fiji (2016), and Denmark (2017).

    With the ISA World SUP Championships being held in the Americas, Europe and Oceania, 2018 will mark an important milestone as the first edition to be held in Asia, while Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong’s first participation in the WSUPPC highlights the growth of the sport across the Asian continent.

    As the long-time, undisputed World Championship for SUP, the 2017 WSUPPC held in Denmark made history as the first to feature a complete gender equity format, offering equal slots for men and women on each participating team. The 2018 edition will continue to utilize this format, which has led to increased participation from women around the globe.

    ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

    “The ISA is excited to bring the WSUPPC to Asia for the first time. We have been committed to growing and spreading the sport around the world, and bringing the event to one of the world’s most populous countries, China, creates great opportunity to gain traction in Asia.

    “The elite of the sport are headed to Wanning, setting the stage for an epic showdown of world-class talent for the competition.

    “Wanning’s Riyue Bay and Shenzhou Peninsula will provide excellent venues for the world’s best to perform in front of a global audience via the live broadcast.”

    The 2018 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship will be streamed live on November 23 – December 2.

    The schedule is as follows:

    November 23 – Opening Ceremony, Riyue Bay
    November 24 – Sprint Racing, Shenzhou Peninsula
    November 25 – Distance Racing, Shenzhou Peninsula
    November 26 – Lay day
    November 27 – December 2 – SUP Surfing, Technical Races and Relay Race at Riyue Bay
    December 2 – Closing Ceremony after competition


    Notes to Editors

    About the International Surfing Association

    The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

    ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 103 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).

    For further information:
    Sujit Jasani
    VERO Communications
    Mobile: +44 [0]7940 375 282

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only