Today: Last Update:

  • Nominees Announced for Badminton World Federation's Night of Nights


    WHAT: BWF Player of the Year Awards

    WHEN: 6.30pm – 10 December 2018

    WHERE: Garden Grand Ball Room, Level 1, Garden Hotel, 368 Huanshi Dong Lu, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou

    Badminton World Federation’s Player of the Year Awards, to be presented at the sport’s annual Gala Dinner next week in Guangzhou, will provide a fitting curtain raiser to the inaugural HSBC BWF World Tour Finals.

    The prestigious awards night recognises the achievements of our elite badminton players and pairs in six categories.

    Winners in five of the categories will be chosen by the BWF Awards Commission from a list of nominees while the Most Improved Player is special direct award from the Commission.

    Indonesia’s all-conquering Men’s Doubles team of Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo are aiming for back-to-back crowns in the Male Player of the Year category.

    Japan’s Women’s Doubles pair Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota capped off a breakthrough season last year claiming the Most Improved Player of the Year award. This year they could go one better, nominated for Female Player of the Year alongside Tai Tzu Ying and Huang Yaqiong.

    Lucas Mazur is again up for the Male Para-badminton Player of the Year award, his third nomination in a row, while Sujirat Pookkham is shortlisted alongside first-time nominees Yuma Yamazaki (Japan) and Leani Ratri Oktila (Indonesia).


    Male Player of the Year
    Kento Momota (Men’s Singles, Japan)
    Highlight: Winner – Total BWF World Championships 2018 & Badminton Asia Championships 2018
    Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuldo (Men’s Doubles, Indonesia)
    Highlight: 8 x Winner – HSBC BWF World Tour 2018 & Asian Games 2018
    Zheng Siwei (Mixed Doubles, China)
    Highlight: Winner – Total BWF World Championships 2018 & Asian Games 2018

    Female Player of the Year

    Tai Tzu Ying (Women’s Singles, Taipei)
    Highlight: 6 x Winner – HSBC BWF World Tour 2018 & Asian Games 2018
    Huang Yaqiong (Mixed Doubles, China)
    Highlight: Winner – Total BWF World Championships 2018 & Asian Games 2018
    Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota (Women’s Doubles, Japan)
    Highlight: 6 x Winner – HSBC BWF World Tour 2018

    Eddy Choong Most Promising Player of the Year
    Apriyani Rahayu (Women’s Doubles, Indonesia)
    Highlight: Winner – YONEX-SUNRISE DR. AKHILESH DAS GUPTA India Open 2018 & TOYOTA Thailand Open 2018
    He Jiting (Men’s Doubles & Mixed Doubles, China)
    Highlight: Winner – VICTOR Korea Open 2018 (Mixed Doubles)
    Han Chengkai/Zhou Haodong (Men’s Doubles, China)
    Highlight: Winner – YONEX French Open 2018
    Gregoria Mariska Tunjung (Women’s Singles, Indonesia)
    Highlight: Semifinal – TOYOTA Thailand Open 2018 & DANISA Denmark Open 2018
    Goh Jin Wei (Women’s Singles, Malaysia)
    Highlight: Winner – Youth Olympics Games 2018 & World Junior Championships 2018

    Male Para-badminton Player of the Year
    Lucas Mazur (France)
    Highlight: Winner – Men’s Singles SL4 & Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5 European Para-Badminton Championships 2018
    Cheah Liek Hou (Malaysia)
    Highlight: Winner – Men’s Singles SU5 Dubai, Uganda, Turkey & Ireland Para-Badminton International 2018
    Jack Shephard (England)
    Highlight: Winner – Men’s Singles SS6 & Men’s Doubles SS6 European Para-Badminton Championships 2018

    Female Para-badminton Player of the Year
    Sujirat Pookkham (Thailand)
    Highlight: Winner – Women’s Singles WH1 Spain, Turkey & Thailand Para-Badminton International 2018
    Yuma Yamazaki (Japan)
    Highlight: Winner – Women’s Singles WH2 Spain, Turkey, Thailand & Japan Para-Badminton International 2018
    Leani Ratri Oktila (Indonesia)
    Highlight: Winner – Women’s Doubles SL3-SU5 & Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5 Asian Para Games 2018

    The Most Improved Player of the Year recognises outstanding advances in performance across all players and pairs and is selected at the discretion of the Awards Commission.

    Most Improved Player of the Year
    Seo Seong Jae (Men’s Doubles & Mixed Doubles, Korea)
    Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara (Women’s Doubles, Japan)
    Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chiraj Shetty (Men’s Doubles, India)
    He Jiting (Men’s Doubles & Mixed Doubles, China)
    Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (Men’s Singles, Indonesia)




    The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is the international governing body of the sport of badminton, recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). It was originally the International Badminton Federation (IBF) which was founded on 5 July, 1934, before being rechristened the Badminton World Federation in 2006.

    The purpose and objectives of BWF include regulating, promoting, developing and popularising the sport of badminton throughout the world and organising, conducting and presenting international events at the highest level.

    The BWF’s vision is to make badminton a leading global sport accessible to all – giving every child a chance to play for life. Its mission is to lead and inspire all stakeholders; to deliver entertainment through exciting events to drive fan experience; and to create innovative, impactful and sustainable development initiatives.

    BWF has its headquarters in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with 189 Member Associations worldwide.

    Poul-Erik Høyer is the BWF President and Thomas Lund is the BWF Secretary General.

    Websites: and


    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only