Today: Last Update:

  • 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup: Best XI...and more


    CHICAGO, Illinois – Following completion of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup, Concacaf announced the tournament’s Best XI.

    The selection contains seven players from 2019 Gold Cup champion Mexico, who defeated the United States in the Final, 1-0, on Sunday night at Soldier Field in Chicago.

    Among the notable names are Canada FW Jonathan David, who took home Golden Boot Award honors, Mexico GK Guillermo Ochoa, who was named the Golden Glove winner and United States MF Christian Pulisic, who was named the Best Young Player.

    2019 Concacaf Gold Cup

    Best XI

    Goalkeeper: Guillermo Ochoa, Mexico
    Defender: Luis Rodriguez, Mexico
    Defender: Carlos Salcedo, Mexico
    Defender: Aaron Long, United States
    Defender: Jesus Gallardo, Mexico
    Midfielder: Michael Bradley, United States
    Midfielder: Andres Guardado, Mexico
    Midfielder: Jonathan dos Santos, Mexico
    Winger/Right Midfielder: Jonathan David, Canada
    Winger/Right Midfielder: Christian Pulisic, United States
    Forward: Raul Jimenez, Mexico

     GK Guillermo Ochoa of Mexico was named the winner of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup Golden Glove Award presented by Allstate.

    Ochoa allowed just two goals in 423 minutes of action, registering three clean sheets in what is Ochoa’s fourth Gold Cup title.

    Concacaf Gold Cup Golden Glove winners:

    1991 - 1998: not awarded
    2000: Craig Forrest, Canada
    2002: Lars Hirschfeld, Canada
    2003: Oswaldo Sanchez, Mexico
    2005: Jaime Penedo, Panama
    2007: Franck Grandel, Guadeloupe
    2009: Keylor Navas, Costa Rica
    2011: Noel Valladares, Honduras
    2013: Jaime Penedo, Panama
    2015: Brad Guzan, United States
    2017: Andre Blake, Jamaica
    2019: Guillermo Ochoa, Mexico


    Following the conclusion of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup on Sunday, FW Jonathan David of Canada is the winner of the 2019 Gold Cup Golden Boot Award.

    The 19-year-old striker finished the tournament with six goals in 306 minutes played to lead all players. He also had two assists in the four games played.

    David became the youngest player to ever score a hat trick in Gold Cup history with his three goals in a 7-0 Group A win over Cuba.

    All-Time Gold Cup top scorers:

    1991 – Benjamin Galindo, Mexico (4 goals)

    1993 – Zague, Mexico (12)

    1996 – Eric Wynalda (4)

    1998 – Paulo Wanchope, Costa Rica (4); Luis Hernandez, Mexico (4)

    2000 – Carlos Corazzin, Canada (4)

    2002 – Brian McBride, United States (4)

    2003 – Walter Centeno, Costa Rica (4); Landon Donovan, United States (4)

    2005 – Carlos Ruiz, Guatemala (3); Wilmer Velasquez, Honduras (3); Luis Tejada, Panama (3); DaMarcus Beasley, United States (3); Landon Donovan, United States (3)

    2007 – Carlos Pavon, Honduras (5)

    2009 – Miguel Sabah, Mexico (4)

    2011 – Javier Hernandez, Mexico (7)

    2013 – Gabriel Torres, Panama (5); Landon Donovan, United States (5); Chris Wondolowski, United States (5)

    2015 – Clint Dempsey, United States (7)

    2017 – Alphonso Davies, Canada (3); Kevin Parsemain, Martinique (3); Jordan Morris (3)

    2019 – Jonathan David, Canada (6)

    Thanks to his excellent performances throughout the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup, Raul Jimenez of Mexico has earned the Golden Ball Award presented by Scotiabank.

    The 28-year-old FW started in all six matches for Mexico, scoring five goals.

    Jimenez also assisted on Jonathan dos Santos’s game-winning goal in the Final, a 1-0 win for Mexico over the United States on Sunday night in Chicago, Illinois.

    Concacaf Gold Cup Golden Ball winners:

    1991: Tony Meola, United States

    1993: Ramon Ramirez, Mexico

    1996: Raul Lara, Mexico

    1998: Kasey Keller, United States

    2000: Craig Forrest, Canada

    2002: Brian McBride, United States

    2003: Jesus Arellano, Mexico

    2005: Luis Tejada, Panama

    2007: Julian de Guzman, Canada

    2009: Giovani dos Santos, Mexico

    2011: Javier Hernandez, Mexico

    2013: Landon Donovan, United States

    2015: Andres Guardado, Mexico

    2017: Michael Bradley, United States

    2019: Raul Jimenez, Mexico

    Christian Pulisic of the United States was selected as the recipient of the Scotiabank Best Young Player Award .

    The 20-year-old MF scored three goals in helping the U.S. to a runner-up finish.

    Concacaf Gold Cup Scotiabank Best Young Player winners:

    1991 - 2014: not awarded

    2015: Jesus Corona, Mexico

    2017: Alphonso Davies, Canada

    2019: Christian Pulisic, United States

    The United States has earned the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup Fair Play Award presented by Scotiabank in recognition of the exemplary behavior that promoted the spirit of fair play and compassion in Concacaf competition.

    The U.S. accumulated just three yellow cards during the tournament and committed a total of 70 fouls.

    Concacaf Gold Cup Scotiabank Fair Play Award winners:

    1991-2000: Not given
    2002: Costa Rica
    2003: United States
    2005: Honduras
    2007: Honduras
    2009: United States
    2011: Mexico
    2013: Panama
    2015: Jamaica
    2017: United States
    2019: United States