Today: Last Update:

  • Swimmers from 59 countries take part in 31st Samsung Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race


    Istanbul, Turkey; 21 July 2019: More than 2,400 swimmers from 59 countries competed in
    the Turkish Olympic Committee’s (TOC) 31st Samsung Bosphorus Cross-Continental
    Swimming Race in Istanbul today.
    Turkey’s Ilgın Çelik topped the women’s category with a time of 47 minutes 19 seconds
    whilst Turkey’s Melikşah Düğen came first in the men’s category with a time of 48 minutes
    and 28 seconds.
    The Samsung Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race began in Kanlıca, on the Asian
    side of Istanbul, and ended in Kuruçeşme Cemil Topuzlu Park on the European side.
    Exactly half of this year’s quota was made up of international swimmers, more than ever
    The unique 6.5km course is the only official competitive swimming race to cross between
    two continents.
    This year’s event was also attended by thousands of enthusiastic sports fans who cheered
    on from the Samsung fan zone in Kuruçeşme Cemil Topuzlu Park.
    Dominican swimmer Marcos Diaz, who swam across five continents in 2009, was this year’s
    guest of honour.
    On completing the race, the fastest swimmers were awarded plaques, medals and exclusive
    products from the event’s sponsor, Samsung.
    IOC Vice President and TOC President Prof. Dr. Uğur Erdener and Samsung Electronics
    Turkey President Daehyun Kim were amongst those attending the event.
    IOC Vice President and TOC President Prof. Dr. Uğur Erdener said:
    “I would like to congratulate this year’s winners Ilgın Çelik and Melikşah Düğen, as well as all
    those who took part in this year’s Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race for making
    it such a huge success. This race is like nothing else on the planet. To see thousands of
    swimmers, representing nearly a third of the world’s countries, swimming from one continent
    to another is truly special. I would again like to thank Samsung for their support in hosting
    this event and for all the government and non-government support that has made this
    excellent occasion possible.”
    The winners:
    Men (name, country, time)
    • Melikşah Düğen / Turkey, / 0:48:28
    • Efe Erduran / Turkey / 0:48:28
    • Artur Artamonov / Ukraine / 0:48:53
    Women (name, country, time)
    • Ilgın Çelik / Turkey / 0:47:19
    • Hilal Zeynep Saraç / Turkey / 0:47:26
    • Şira Nur Eroğlu / 0:50:09

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only