Today: Last Update:

  • FISU President Oleg Matytsin picked to lead international university sport


    TURIN, Italy – First elected as the leader of the university sports movement in 2015, Oleg
    Matytsin was rewarded by members of the International University Sports Federation (FISU)
    with a further four-year term as President during the second and final day of the 36th FISU
    General Assembly. In a historic development, Penninah Aligawesa Kabenge was elected the
    first-ever female Vice President of the Federation.

    “Thank you for trusting me to lead the university sport movement for another four years.
    Let’s do our best for the future of FISU,” Matytsin said. “As we celebrate our 70th anniversary
    and the 60th anniversary of the Universiade, I believe we can say with confidence that FISU is
    stronger now than ever before. We look to the future with a renewed sense of purpose.”

    “I’m very happy,” said Kabenge. “Not just because I have become the first female Vice
    President of FISU but because I’m really looking to make an impact. My colleagues will be
    relying on me to make sure their voice is heard in FISU. I am very thankful for the confidence
    that everybody has shown in me today.”

    The four-year term of the Executive Committee officials elected in Turin will cover
    Universiades to be held in Lucerne and Chengdu in 2021 and Lake Placid and Ekaterinberg in
    2023. Representatives of all four organising committees were present to give updates
    regarding their preparations.

    The FISU First Vice-President, Treasurer and Senior Executive Committee Member positions
    were also appointed by acclamation. The posts will continue to be served until the 2023
    General Assembly by Leonz Eder (SUI), Bayasgalan Danzandorj (MGL), and Verena Burk
    (GER) respectively. All four were initially elected during the 2015 General Assembly held in
    Lausanne, Switzerland.

    During the 35th General Assembly held in Taipei City in 2017, the FISU leadership had
    proposed and passed a five-term limit for Executive Committee members, with no more than
    three terms in a single post. These limits will apply to the FISU Executive Board members
    elected in Turin today, with the results of the elections as follows:

    FISU President: Oleg Matytsin (RUS)
    FISU First-Vice President: Leonz Eder (SUI)
    FISU Vice Presidents (4):
    Luciano Cabral (BRA)
    Marian Dymalski (POL)
    Penninah A Kabenge (UGA)
    ‚ÄčShen Zhen (CHN) 
    FISU Treasurer: Bayasgalan Danzandorj (MGL)
    FISU Senior Executive Committee Member: Verena Burk (GER)
    FISU Executive Committee Members (15):
    Byong Jin YOU (KOR)
    Lorenzo LENTINI (ITA)
    Hisato IGARASHI (JPN)
    Ching Yu TSENG (TPE)
    Rosaura MENDEZ (CRC)
    Delise O’MEALLY (USA)
    Omar AL HAI (UAE)
    Martin DOULTON (AUS)
    Leopold SENGHOR (SEN)
    Gabriel KOTCHOFA (BEN)
    Emiliano OJEA (ARG)
    Kenny CHOW (HKG)
    Kemal TAMER (TUR)
    Marko ZUNIC (CRO)

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only