Today: Last Update:



    Monday 9 December 2019

    Kento Momota, winner of 10 titles this year including the TOTAL BWF World Championships, was honoured with the Male Player of the Year Award at the annual Players’ Gala before the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals in Guangzhou, China.

    The Japanese had an outstanding season during which he won most of the major titles, including the World Championships, the Badminton Asia Championships, and the All England. He also guided Japan to the Sudirman Cup final.

    Momota was chosen for the honour ahead of two-time winners Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan and Zheng Si Wei.

    Huang Ya Qiong picked up the Female Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, holding off competition from Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan, Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota and Tai Tzu Ying.

    Huang and partner Zheng Si Wei were nearly unstoppable most of the season; not only did they win the World Championships for the second time, but also all three Super 1000 titles – All England Open, Indonesia Open, China Open.

    China’s Qu Zimo, winner of 12 gold medals this year, won the Male Para Badminton Player of the Year Award, ahead of Pramod Bhagat, Lucas Mazur and Dheva Anrimusthi.

    Indonesia’s Leani Ratri Oktila claimed her second successive Female Para Badminton Player of the Year Award. Oktila, whose season haul consisted of 12 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze, was chosen for the honour from a nomination list that included Sarina Satomi, Liu Yutong and Ayako Suzuki.

    Korean women’s doubles pair Kim So Yeong and Kong Hee Yong, who are in their first full season together, were voted Most Improved Player of the Year, ahead of fellow contenders Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, Praveen Jordan/Melati Daeva Oktavianti, and Michelle Li.

    Kim and Kong won four titles, including the Japan Open and the Korea Open.

    Korea had more reason to cheer as 17-year-old women’s singles prodigy An Se Young was named Most Promising Player of the Year. An finished the year in the top 10 of the world rankings, with season highlights being title wins at the French Open, Korea Masters, Akita Masters, Canada Open, and New Zealand Open.

    The other contenders for the Most Promising Player of the Year were Koki Watanabe, Leo Rolly Carnando/Daniel Marthin, and Kantaphon Wangchaoren.

    BWF Player of the Year Award Winners

    Male Player of the Year

    · Kento Momota (Men’s Singles, Japan)

    o Highlight: Winner – TOTAL BWF World Championships 2019; 10 titles overall

    Female Player of the Year

    · Huang Ya Qiong (Mixed Doubles, China)

    o Highlight: Winner – TOTAL BWF World Championships 2019; six titles overall

    Eddy Choong Most Promising Player of the Year

    · An Se Young (Women’s Singles, Korea)

    o Highlight: Five titles overall, including Yonex French Open 2019

    Male Para Badminton Player of the Year

    Qu Zimo (China): 12 gold
    Female Para Badminton Player of the Year

    Leani Ratri Oktila (Indonesia): 12 gold, 2 silver, 1 bronze
    Most Improved Player of the Year

    Kim So Yeong/Kong Hee Yong (Women’s Doubles, Korea)


    ** Photos and quotes will be provided upon request. Please contact BWF Communications & Media Manager, Lloyd Green.



    The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is the international governing body of the sport of badminton, recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). It was originally the International Badminton Federation (IBF) which was founded on 5 July, 1934, before being rechristened the Badminton World Federation in 2006.

    The purpose and objectives of BWF include regulating, promoting, developing and popularising the sport of badminton throughout the world and organising, conducting and presenting international events at the highest level.

    The BWF’s vision is to make badminton a leading global sport accessible to all – giving every child a chance to play for life. Its mission is to lead and inspire all stakeholders; to deliver entertainment through exciting events to drive fan experience; and to create innovative, impactful and sustainable development initiatives.

    BWF has its headquarters in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with 193 Member Associations worldwide.

    Poul-Erik Høyer is the BWF President and Thomas Lund is the BWF Secretary General.

    Websites: and

    Lloyd Green
    Communication and Media Manager
    Mobile: +60 19-384 0556
    WhatsApp: +60 19-384 0556
    Skype: lloydhgreen13

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only