Today: Last Update:

  • Teams set to battle for world title and Paralympic points at World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2020


    The World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2020 will get underway on Saturday (29 February) in Wetzikon, Switzerland.

    A total of 12 teams – the same amount of teams that will compete in two years’ time at the Paralympic Winter Games – will take to the ice with hopes of claiming the world title and gaining Paralympic Qualification Points. Next year’s World Wheelchair Curling Championship will be the test event for the Paralympic Winter Games 2022 at the Ice Cube in Beijing, China.

    The 12 teams are Canada, 2019 champions China, Czech Republic, Estonia, Korea, Latvia, Norway, Russia, Scotland, Slovakia, Sweden and hosts Switzerland.

    Based on the final ranking at the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019, eight teams secured their spot in this years’ competition. In addition, the top three finishers at the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2019 and the host, Switzerland completed the field.

    China, Scotland, Korea, Norway, Slovakia, Russia, Estonia and Latvia emerged from the world championship. Meanwhile Canada, Sweden and Czech Republic qualified at the B-event.

    The reigning world and Paralympic champions will be skipped by China’s Wang Haitao again. In addition, the 2019 silver medallists from Scotland will be sporting a new look this year. Nine-time wheelchair championship participant, Aileen Neilson, won’t be in the line-up – a first since 2016.

    Fortunately for the Scots though, their skip, Huge Nibloe, will return in search of gold. Korea who won bronze in 2019 are skipped by Seung Won Jung this year. Fourth player Hui Tae Yang is the only team member that competes again in 2020.

    The championship will begin with a round-robin stage from Saturday 29 February to Thursday 5 March. A six-team play-off will then take place. In that play-off the teams ranked first and second at the end of the round robin progress directly to the semi-finals. Each of their opponents will be decided by a qualification round.

    At that stage, the third-ranked team plays the sixth-ranked team and the teams in fourth and fifth place at the end of the round robin face-off. The winners of these games advance to the semi-finals on Friday (6 March). The bronze medal game will be at 10:00 and the gold final will follow at 14:30 on Saturday (7 March).

    All times are Central European Time (CET) which is one hour (+1) ahead of Universal Coordinated Time (UTC).

    The World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2020 will be the second year that Paralympic Qualification Points can be earned for the Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2020. Hosts China, and the 11 National Olympic Committees – or World Curling Member Associations – with the most points after 2021 will qualify for the Games. More information on the qualification process can be found here.

    To engage with the World Curling Federation on social media leading up to the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2020 follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@WorldCurling) and Facebook (@WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting: #WWhCC2020 #curling

    As a service to our readers, Around the Rings will provide verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by Olympic-related organizations, federations, businesses and sponsors.

    These press releases appear as sent to Around the Rings and are not edited for spelling, grammar or punctuation. 

    25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only